home     about us     members     meetings     news     photos    

 Welcome to AsCA

Among the three Regional Associates of the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr), the American Crystallographic Association (ACA), the European Crystallographic Association (ECA) and the Asian Crystallographic Association (AsCA), we are the youngest and the fastest growing. Established at the Perth IUCr Congress in 1987, AsCA has now been in existence for 25 years and is entering a mature phase of its life and looks forward to further growth in keeping with economic developments in the region.


The region has had a long tradition of crystallography. In fact, William Lawrence Bragg and his father William Henry, two of the most distinguished alumni of the University of Adelaide, changed the way we see molecules. In a way the Bragg Centennial Symposium, held on December 6, 2012 at the University to pay tribute to the centenary of publication of the landmark paper on diffraction by crystal, heralded the International Year of Crystallography, IYCr 2014.


AsCA is proud of great progress in the crystallographic activities of the region in the past two decades. The meetings of the Association continue to have grown in size and stature over the time, with the 2007 Taipei meeting attracting over 400 delegates, the 2009 Beijing meeting attracting over 500, and the 2010 Busan meeting attracting over 600. The quality of the science at the recent meetings has been outstanding and has attracted participation from Europe and the United States.


The last AsCA meeting was held in Hong Kong at the University of Science and Technology in December 2013.  The meeting was well attended with an excellent program organized by Professor Ian Williams and Professor Takashi Kamiyama.


I look forward to seeing you all at the AsCA 2015 Conference in Science City, Kolkata, India during December 5 – 8, 2015. The International Program Committee is being chaired by Professor Alice Vrielink. The AsCA 2016 meeting is scheduled to be held in Hanoi, Vietnam under the stewardship of Professor Duong Ngoc Huyen.


Pinak Chakrabarti
President 2013-2016

Pinak Chakrabarti






© Copyright AsCA